April 2013 Newsletter (West Coast Tour! Couches Needed!)

Alongside the Grand Canyon, April 2013

Greetings from California! And yes, that’s a photo of me standing along the Grand Canyon. Last Tuesday, my friend Maria and I packed up her car and started traveling west. Now that we’ve hit the coast, I’m getting ready to play a string of shows in California, Oregon, Colorado, Nebraska, and Chicago (via Amtrak, MegaBus, and Greyhound) while Maria makes her way up to Canada in her car over the next several weeks. It has been an amazing trip, and I feel so blessed to be able to combine my work with the opportunity to explore the United States. My job may not pay that well, but the perks are definitely worth it right now.

In just six days, we hit 10 states and explored the Gateway Arch, Oklahoma City, Amarillo, Santa Fe, the Grand Canyon, Bryce Canyon, and San Diego. Along the way, we captured a lot of photos via Instagram (@mikereeb and @mariaedavey). If you have the time, browse/creep through our photos from the last week! Here are a few of my favorites:

Maria and I in the car
My favorite structure in the US, the Gateway Arch
Abandonded truck in Texas
Roadside exploring in New Mexico
My feet on a huge red rock in New Arizona
The elk I came across just after sunrise at the Grand Canyon
Getting pretty close to the edge of the Grand Canyon
Bryce Canyon, Utah | one more | okay, last one
My reaction to everything in Las Vegas

As of today, I have played 37 shows in 2013. Tomorrow night, I’m excited to play my first of four shows in California (not including two house shows)! Two days later, I make my Los Angeles debut at the famed Hotel Cafe. If you know anyone in the LA area, please help spread the word! The show is $10, and my set starts at 7pm sharp. On my way back through the Midwest, I have a show in Omaha on 5/2 and in Chicago on 5/4. My show at Uncommon Ground in Chicago will be my last in the area for a while, so come on out and bring a friend or two. It’s one of my favorite rooms to play, and it’d be great to see you! Here are all of my upcoming dates, cities, and venues (more details):

Apr 11 – Ventura, California – Zoey’s Cafe
Apr 13 – Los Angeles, California – Hotel Cafe
Apr 17 – San Francisco, California – Brainwash Cafe
Apr 18 – Sacramento, California – ZuhG Life Store
Apr 27 – Portland, Oregon – The Arbor Lodge
Apr 30 – Denver, Colorado – The Meadowlark
May 2 – Omaha, Nebraska – Barley Street Tavern
May 4 – Chicago, Illinois – Uncommon Ground on Clark

While touring, I typically stay with friends, family, and ‘friends of friends’ in different cities. It saves me so much money and is actually the only way that I’m able to make ends meet. As of right now, I have lodging set-up in most cities. However, I’m still looking for a couch to crash on in San Francisco on 4/16 and 4/17, an enclosed porch to sleep on in Sacramento on 4/18, and a floor to sleep on in Omaha on 5/2. Have any friends or family in those cities that might be able to put me up for a night? If so, please let me know. I’d be happy to offer you a free house show in exchange for your help. Seriously!

Last but not least, I’m getting everything finalized for my 17 shows in May throughout Nebraska, Indiana, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Kentucky, and New York. Even though the month is coming together really well, I’m still looking for house shows or coffee house gigs in Philadelphia (5/18 or 5/22) and Cleveland/Toledo (5/24). Looking to June, I’m also hoping to find some house shows or coffee house gigs in Iowa (6/5 or 6/6), Minneapolis (6/7, 6/8, or 6/9), Eau Claire/Wausau (6/10 or 6/11), and Milwaukee (6/17 or 6/18). Have any leads? Any help goes a long way.

Thanks again everyone, and please stay in touch over the next month via Twitter and Facebook. While definitely exciting, the road can get lonely from time to time. See you soon!

Earnestly,
Mike Reeb

————

Visit newsletter.mikereeb.com to join my Email List. You’ll get monthly updates like this delivered directly to your inbox, and you’ll never miss a show!

About mikereeb

http://mikereeb.com
This entry was posted in Monthly Newsletters. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to April 2013 Newsletter (West Coast Tour! Couches Needed!)

  1. Adriana says:

    I don’t know about a place to sleep but if you pass through Davis my sister can probably treat you to a meal at the UC Davis DC 😛

  2. Jacki says:

    Hi Mike. Louella Hung sent this to me on Facebook. My husband, kids and I live about 30 min east of Sacramento in Fair Oaks. You’re welcome to crash with us while you’re in the Sacramento area if you don’t find something closer to downtown. You can email me at jsmoczynski@yahoo.com.
    -Jacki

Leave a Reply

